top of page

My Big Idea

Updated: Dec 26, 2019


It might just be me who has crazy or seemingly impossible ideas that they want to make a reality. Hopefully, it's not, though. Today, I'd like to explain my own idea that will one day be a reality. It is a quest and I can't wait for it to unfold. If you want to know how to have big ideas like this, I am not the person to come to. I just randomly thought of this a couple of weeks ago and knew I had to do it. However, I do hope this encourages you to find your own big idea. We all need something that confuses everyone around us. Why shouldn't we make it something good?


DRUM ROLL PLEASE!


I had an idea to create a nonprofit for girls and women of all ages who have gone through trauma of all kinds. I want it to be available to women of all backgrounds and financial support. I also want it to be an international organization so women all over the world can get the support they desperately need without being called crazy, possessed, or even a liar and imposter.


The main program I would like to create involves using houses everywhere and training the women who live there to work with other women impacted by trauma. These houses will be similar to safe houses but instead of being utilized in the midst of severe trauma they will be for after an individual has undergone trauma. Therapists and other psychological professionals can recommend individuals to fill out an application. Depending on each person's age, interests, disorders/mental illness, and location they will be placed in a certain group of five people that will go to these houses for three to five days quarterly. The program will help with everyday stressors that can be hard to manage all of the time for trauma-affected people, like food, hygiene, and school or work assignments. Not only will this create a small, community of people who truly understand each other, but it will give them all a chance to breathe. I also plan on including small trips to locations around the area the safe house is in like museums, hiking trails, skating rinks, or parks. This will all be pre-scheduled and greatly vary depending on the group of people who are at the house. Lastly, there will be workshops, group therapy, and other events to help each woman manage their mental health needs. Of course, security will be of the utmost importance but this is the basic idea.

To be able to pay for all of this, the organization will provide out-patient services such as therapy, workshops, and psychiatry for women. On top of this, there will be fundraisers and products sold that specifically focus on trauma or the organization.


I know that this will take a lot of time to organize and create and develop but it's my big idea. It allows me the flexibility to do all of the things I want to do, as well as help people. Helping people through their trauma is very needed and something that I'm very passionate about because of my own life experiences.


To prepare for this, I plan on getting a doctorate degree in Gender and Feminist Psychology and performing research on trauma and related disorders or coping mechanisms. I want to do research on what can help all people heal and recover regardless of age or what they can afford. Someone shouldn't be unable to receive treatment because they don't have insurance. Some examples/options include meditation, coloring, journaling, gratitude, yoga, yarn arts, and more. Is there a universally accepted way to show just how much these practices can or can't help in trauma recovery? What exactly should one do when practicing these things to help with recovery? Is there a certain way that helps more than others?


To be able to accomplish this, I will need people all over the world to help. In five years or so, if you find that you have an interest in trauma that's impacted women and are a licensed therapist, art therapist, psychologist, psychiatrist, nurse, counselor, social worker, or other professional that could help with this, please contact me. I will need your help.


That's all for now. As time goes on, there may be changes to the blog because of this. I may switch names or websites or even create new products because of this. I hope to be able to meld the blog with this idea and I'll update you as changes happen!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Follow Me on Social Media!!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page