top of page

Thrifting for the Win

I'm gonna be honest guys, I kind of hated thrifting until my cousin kept on forcing me to go to thrift stores earlier this year. I just thought it wasn't for me because my germaphobic tendencies told me it was gross. But, after doing a lot of research, I can proudly say that in this instance my germaphobic tendencies were wrong and I will not contract a deadly disease by buying clothes that have been previously worn by someone else. There's actually two really cool things to help with this issue called a "Washing Machine and Dryer." In case you haven't heard of these machines, they wash and dry all clothes. However, my fear about thrift stores was that not all germs would be killed in the washing machine. This is scientifically proven to be true for viruses, like the Flu (you can look into that

if you don't believe me). But, this is where the dryer comes into play. Drying clothes on a high heat cycle for at least 28 minutes will kill the virus. This makes my germaphobic tendencies feel a little more at ease. Now, for those of you without a dryer, you're out of luck. I'm only partially kidding, please keep reading.

Anyways, now that we have all gotten over our fears of thrifting, it's time to learn about why buying clothes from a thrift store is a great and perfectly respectable option for you.

1. Thrifting saves you money. Going to a thrift store means that you can buy cute clothes in your own fashion style without breaking the bank. There are many sizes, colours, and kinds of clothing so you don't need to worry about finding something that will work for you. If you decide to go to a store like Goodwill or Salvation Army, you might even be able to find full outfits for less than ten dollars. This makes thrifting a wonderful option for teens and young adults who are still in school. Once you are done with the clothes that you have bought, you can even donate them to a thrift store to save on taxes or H&M for a discount at their store or even sell them at a consignment shop to earn some money for your next shopping trip. So your'e also able to cycle through clothes during the year or based on the seasons if you want to.

2. Thrifting is good for the environment. If you buy a used item, it is one less item that goes into a landfill or takes up space in the ocean. It also means that you are buying a something that can make you feel good about yourself. Instead of purchasing a dress that supports a company or brand that creates new clothes through polluting the environment and wasting resources, this dress is supporting a local thrift store or larger non-profit that also helps your community.

3. I touched on this earlier but thrifting is also more ethical because of all of the above reasons.

This is why I believe in thrifting for the win. I have saved so much money by thrifting and will continue to support the earth staying a planet with people living on it. If you haven't ever thrifted before, it might be time to go have fun this weekend with your friends and shop for new-used clothes before school starts!


Bye for now!! You've got this,

Kiki <3

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Follow Me on Social Media!!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page